Please Note Current versions of Dropbox do not install Growl any longer. If your copy of Dropbox is installing Growl, please update it first and then follow the uninstall steps if you do not want Growl any longer.

In previous versions of Dropbox, if you enabled notifications at the end of the installation walk through, then Growl would be installed. In Dropbox versions older than 1.0, Dropbox would reinstall Growl every time you launch it if you leave its Growl settings enabled, even if you had removed Growl.

To put it another way, this is what would happen to most people after a while.

  1. You would install Dropbox and enable notifications in the Dropbox installation.
  2. Within a day you would receive a notification that Growl needs an update.
  3. Not knowing what Growl is, you remove it.
  4. The next time Dropbox needed Growl, it reinstalls it with the old version it knows about.
  5. You would receive a notification that Growl needs an update.
  6. Not knowing what Growl is, you remove it.
  7. Rinse, lather, and repeat.

We were even interviewed by MacWorld in this article: The mystery of spontaneously installed Growl.

There were some understandably rather angry people contacting us about this. However, we were beholden to the Dropbox people to update Dropbox to change this behavior. After a very long period of time, they finally did. Our recommendation now is that if you are using Dropbox, to update it so that you no longer run into this situation.